I am, I am, I am : seventeen brushes with death

I am, I am, I am : seventeen brushes with death
O'Farrell, Maggie, 1972-
  • Item Type: Book - 823.914 OFAR
  • Published: 2017
  • Copies Currently On Shelf:
  • Queue Length: 1
Description

This is Maggie O'Farrell's electric and shocking memoir of the near death experiences that have punctuated her life; it will appeal to readers of Cheryl Strayed's WILD or Joan Didion's THE YEAR OF MAGICAL THINKING. A childhood illness she was not expected to survive. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster. A terrifying encounter on a remote path. A mismanaged labour in an understaffed hospital. This is a memoir with a difference: seventeen encounters with Maggie at different ages, in different locations, reveal to us a whole life in a series of tense, visceral snapshots. It is a book to make you question yourself: what would you do if your life was in danger? How would you react? And what would you stand to lose? I AM, I AM, I AM is a book you will finish newly conscious of your own vulnerability, and determined to make every heartbeat count.

Related Subjects

Moodbusting
Novelists, Irish--20th century--Biography.
Death--Anecdotes.

Availability

View detailed information about each copy of this item.

Location Type Call Number Status
Croydon Library Book 823.914 OFAR On Shelf - ER-BIOG
Healesville Library Book 823.914 OFAR On Loan - Due 02-07-2020
Knox Library Book 823.914 OFAR On Loan - Due 14-05-2020
Yarra Junction Library Book 823.914 OFAR On Shelf - ER-BIOG
MARC Record Data

Learn more about this item by exploring its MARC data.

ISBN:

9781472240750 (paperback)

ISBN:

9781472240743 (hardback)

ISBN:

9781472240767

Personal Author:

O'Farrell, Maggie, 1972-

Title:

I am, I am, I am : seventeen brushes with death / Maggie O'Farrell.

Cover title:

I am, I am, I am : a memoir : seventeen brushes with death

Publication Info:

London : Tinder Press, 2017.

Publication Info:

©2017

Physical description:

292 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm.

Content Type:

text

Content Type:

still image

Media Type:

unmediated

Carrier Type:

volume

Personal subject:

O'Farrell, Maggie, 1972-

Subject term:

Moodbusting

Subject term:

Novelists, Irish--20th century--Biography.

Subject term:

Death--Anecdotes.

Goodreads Reviews

Explore what fellow readers on Goodreads are saying about this title.